Makita Press Releases  


Monday, April 6, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, April 6, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Alessi brings home sixth place

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Chad Reed remains on top of the overall championship points standings after picking up a second-place finish at Saturday night’s AMA Supercross at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium in Jacksonville, Florida. The two-time, defending AMA Supercross Champion led the first 15 of 20 laps before capturing a second-place result in the main event. So far, Reed has been on the podium at every race this year. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi also had a strong performance on Saturday night. The Californian finished an impressive third in his heat race and sixth in the main event. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne remains injured and did not race. He hopes to be back racing again soon.
In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi finished second in his heat raceand then got the holeshot in the 15-lap main. Unfortunately, the young rider crashed and anotherrider landed on his bike. Izzi finished up the Supercross Lites East Coast Series in third place overall.
Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1
2nd Place Jacksonville Supercross & 1st Place Overall Points
Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
6th PlaceJacksonville Supercross & 7th Place Overall Points
Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #26
DNR Jacksonville Supercross & NA Overall Points
Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #20
14th Place Jacksonville Supercross Lites & 3rd Place Overall Points
AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Kevin Windham, Honda
4. Josh Hill, Yamaha
5. Andrew Short, Honda
6. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing (Holeshot)
7. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki
8. Kyle Chisolm, Yamaha
9. Heath Voss, Honda
10. Billy Laninovich, Kawasaki
AMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2. Wil Hahn, KTM
3. Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki
4. Darryn Durham, Yamaha
5. Blake Wharton, Honda
6. Broc Tickle, Yamaha
7. Branden Jesseman, Kawasaki
8. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha
9. Matt Goerke, Suzuki
10. Steven Clarke, Suzuki
*Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing (Holeshot)



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.