Makita Press Releases  


Monday, February 9, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, February 9, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Dungey finishes 4th in SX Lites

Round 6 – AMA Supercross Series
Anaheim, California
Angel Stadium
Feb. 7, 2009
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Chad Reed carded his fifth-straight second-place finish this past Saturday night at round six of AMA Supercross at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California. The two-time and defending AMA Supercross Champion battled the elements as well as the competition in the 20-lap Supercross main, thanks to rainy conditions, but still captured a podium finish and held on to the overall championship points lead. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi had a rough night, crashing in the mud and coming from last place to finish 11th. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne did not race, due to an injury sustained in the off-season. Byrne plans to return to racing at next week’s round in San Diego.
In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey overcame a bad start to bring home a fourth-place finish. Although the young rider won his heat race, the 15-lap main event saw him go down in a turn-one pile-up. In spite of this, he remounted his RM-Z250 in last place and worked his way through the field to bring home an impressive fourth-place result.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California, on Saturday, Feb. 14, 2009.
Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1
2nd Place – Anaheim 3 Supercross
1st Place – Overall Championship Points Standings
Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
11th Place– Anaheim 3 Supercross
9th Place – Overall Championship Points Standings
Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #10
4th Place – Anaheim 3 Supercross Lites
2nd Place-- Overall Championship Points Standings
AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers
1. James Stewart, Yamaha (Holeshot)
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Davi Millsaps, Honda
4. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
5. Josh Grant, Yamaha
6. Andrew Short, Honda
7. Kevin Windham, Honda
8. Josh Hill, Yamaha
9. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha
10. Timmy Ferry, Kawasaki
AMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers
1. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
2. Ryan Morais, Kawasaki
3. Justin Brayton, KTM (Holeshot)
4. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
5. Jeff Alessi, Honda
6. Ryan Sipes, KTM
7. Dan Reardon, Honda
8. PJ Larsen, Kawasaki
9. Chris Blose, Honda
10. Eric McCrummen, Honda



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.