Makita Press Releases  


Monday, January 12, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, January 12, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Alessi brings home 11th in SX
Round 2 – AMA Supercross Series
Phoenix, Arizona
Chase Field
Jan. 10, 2009
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ryan Dungey celebrated his first AMA Supercross Lites win of the new season at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, on Saturday night. The young rider had a flawless day – setting the fastest times in practice, winning his heat race and capturing the victory in the main.Additionally, Dungey’s performance this weekend resulted in his moving into the lead in the overall championship points.
In the Supercross class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed also had cause to celebrate after Saturday night. The two-time, defending AMA Supercross Champion finished an impressive second place in the Supercross main, after having already won his heat race earlier in the night. This performance also moved Reed into second place overall in the SX title chase. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi continues to work his way back into racing after losing multiple months to injury. The Californian finished sixth in his SX heat race and was 11th in the main. Currently, Alessi is 10th overall in the points chase. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne did not race, due to an injury sustained in the off-season. He hopes to be back racing as soon as possible.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will return to Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California, on Saturday, Jan. 17, 2009, for the second of three races at that venue.
Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1
2nd Place – Phoenix Supercross
2nd Place – Overall Championship Points Standings
Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800
11th Place– Phoenix Supercross
10th Place – Overall Championship Points Standings
Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #10
1st Place – Phoenix Supercross Lites
1st Place-- Overall Championship Points Standings
AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Josh Grant, Yamaha (Holeshot)
4. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
5. Andrew Short, Honda
6. Kevin Windham, Honda
7. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
8. Josh Hill, Yamaha
9. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
10. Davi Millsaps, Honda
AMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
2. Justin Brayton, KTM
3. Ryan Morais, Kawasaki
4. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki (Holeshot)
5. Chris Blose, Honda
6. PJ Larsen, Kawasaki
7. Ryan Sipes, KTM
8. Cedric Soubeyras, Yamaha
9. Ben Evans, Honda
10. Dan Reardon, Honda



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.