Makita Press Releases  


Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Tuesday, August 19, 2008


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Byrne brings home 3rd in MX race

Round 10 – AMA Motocross Series
Millville, Minnesota
Spring Creek Motocross Park
August 16 - 17, 2008

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ryan Dungey won his second straight AMA Motocross Lites race in front of his hometown crowd at Spring Creek Motocross Park in Millville, Minnesota. The Belle Plaine native brought home second- and first-place moto finishes to take the overall victory on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z250. Teammate Nico Izzi endured a rough first moto but rallied in the second moto with a sixth-place finish, landing him an 11th-place overall result. Currently, Dungey is in second place overall in the championship, while Izzi is in fifth place.
In the Motocross class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne celebrated yet another podium finish after bringing home a strong third-place result at Spring Creek on Sunday. The Australian charged hard on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 after a get-off in the first moto to get a sixth-place finish and then followed that up with a second-place result in the second moto, for a third-place overall finish. Currently, Byrne is in fourth place overall in the championship points.
AMA Motocross Top 10 (Moto Finishes)
1. James Stewart, Kawasaki, 1-1
2. Andrew Short, Honda, 2-5
3. Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing, 6-2
4. Nick Wey, KTM, 10-4
5. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki, 3-12
6. Jeff Alessi, Honda, 8-6
7. Matt Goerke, KTM, 9-7
8. Broc Hepler, Yamaha, 5-11
9. Cody Cooper, Suzuki, 19-3
10. Charles Summey, Yamaha, 13-10
AMA Motocross Lites Top 10 (Moto Finishes):
1. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing, 2-1
2. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki, 1-2
3. Brett Metcalfe, Kawasaki, 4-3
4. Jake Weimer, Honda, 7-5
5. Blake Wharton, Honda, 10-4
6. Kyle Cunningham, Honda, 5-11
7. Andrew McFarlane, Kawasaki, 9-9
8. Wil Hahn, Yamaha, 8-10
9. Justin Brayton, KTM, 12-7
10. Josh Grant, Honda, 3-34



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.